Saudi Arabia Oil Minister to Deliver Special Address at IHS CERAWeek 2016

“We are pleased to welcome Minister Al-Naimi to IHS CERAWeek 2016,” said Daniel Yergin, conference chair and vice chairman of IHS Inc. (NYSE: IHS), the leading global source of critical information and insight. “At a time when the state of the world’s oil market and its governing dynamics are of the highest interest, his insights and perspective will contribute greatly to the important conversations that will take place at this year’s IHS CERAWeek.”

IHS CERAWeek is recognized as a leading forum providing insight into the energy future. Chaired by Daniel Yergin, IHS CERAWeek 2016, Energy Transition: Strategies for a New World will mark the event’s 35th anniversary and will convene more than 2,800 delegates from more than 50 countries and more than 300 speakers to provide fresh thinking and critically-important dialogue on the most urgent issues and realities to be faced in energy markets, technologies and geopolitics.

The exact date and time of Minister Al-Naimi’s IHS CERAWeek 2016 address is yet to be determined. He will join a distinguished group of speakers that will include U.S. Secretary of Energy, Ernest Moniz; EPA Administrator, Gina McCarthy; the CEOs of ConocoPhillips, GE, Royal Dutch Shell and Siemens; the President of Mexico; the Executive Director of the International Energy Agency; the Secretary General of OPEC; distinguished energy ministers; the Vice Chairman of the U.S. Federal Reserve Board; and leaders of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, Energy Information Administration and the Texas Public Utility Commission.

Key themes to be explored at IHS CERAWeek 2016 will include responses to volatility and uncertainty in a time of low oil prices; what’s ahead for markets, investment, costs and technology; the environmental agenda, including climate policy and responses to the COP 21 climate conference in Paris; changing structure of the electric power industry; prospects for renewables; emerging competitive strategies and industry structure; and regulatory policy and geopolitics.

Featured speakers at IHS CERAWeek 2016 will include:
(A complete list of speakers and conference program information are available at

(Alphabetical order)

H.E. Seyed Mohammad Hossein Adeli, secretary general, GECF

Philip Asherman, president and CEO, CB&I

H.E. Abdalla Salem El-Badri, secretary general, OPEC

Norman Bay, chairman, Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

Ben van Beurden, CEO, Royal Dutch Shell

Fatih Birol, executive director, IEA

Iain Conn, CEO, Centrica

Sen. John Cornyn, majority whip, U.S. Senator, State of Texas

Christopher Crane, president and CEO, Exelon

Theodore Craver, chairman and CEO, Edison International

Gregory Ebel, chairman, president and CEO, Spectra Energy

Russ Girling, president and CEO, Transcanada

Ólafur Ragnar Grímsson, president, Republic of Iceland

Stanley Fischer, vice chairman, Federal Reserve Board

Greg Garland, chairman and CEO, Phillips 66

David Hager, president and CEO, Devon

John Hess, CEO, Hess Corporation

Jeffrey Immelt, chairman and CEO, General Electric

Joe Kaeser, president and CEO, Siemens AG

Yuji Kakimi, president, JERA

Hirobumi Kawano, president, JOGMEC

Ryan Lance, chairman and CEO, ConocoPhillips

Doug Lawler, president and CEO, Chesapeake Energy

Emilio Lozoya, CEO, PEMEX

H.E. Tord Lien, minister of petroleum and energy, Norway

H.E. Gabriel Obiang Lima, minister of mines, industry and energy, Equatorial Guinea

Thomas May, chairman, president and CEO, Eversource Energy

Gina McCarthy, administrator, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Sen. Lisa Murkowski, chairman, Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee, U.S. Senator, State of Alaska

Ali bin Ibrahim Al-Naimi, minister of petroleum and mineral resources, Saudi Arabia

Donna Nelson, chairman, Texas Public Utility Commission

Enrique Peña Nieto, president, Mexico

Kunio Nohata, senior executive officer, Tokyo Gas

Doug Oberhelman, chairman and CEO, Caterpillar

Scott Sheffield, chairman and CEO, Pioneer Natural Resources

Adam Sieminski, administrator, U.S. Energy Information Administration

Besim Sisman, president and CEO, Turkish Petroleum

Angela Stent, director, Center for Eurasian, Russian and East European Studies, Georgetown University

Peter Terium, CEO, RWE

Jim Teague, CEO, Enterprise Products Partners

Jean-Pascal Tricoire, chairman and CEO, Schneider Electric

Steve Williams, president and CEO, Suncor Energy

Daniel Yergin, vice chairman, IHS (IHS CERAWeek Chairman)

Yilin Wang, chairman, CNPC

Registration Information

IHS CERAWeek 2016 will be held February 22-26 at the Hilton Americas Hotel in Houston, Texas. Further information and delegate registration is available at

Media Accreditation

Media registration is now open. Members of the media interested in covering IHS CERAWeek 2016 are required to apply for accreditation. Applications can be submitted via the following link:

About IHS (

IHS (NYSE: IHS) is the leading source of insight, analytics and expertise in critical areas that shape today’s business landscape. Businesses and governments in more than 140 countries around the globe rely on the comprehensive content, expert independent analysis and flexible delivery methods of IHS to make high-impact decisions and develop strategies with speed and confidence. IHS has been in business since 1959 and became a publicly traded company on the New York Stock Exchange in 2005. Headquartered in Englewood, Colorado, USA, IHS is committed to sustainable, profitable growth and employs approximately 8,600 people in 32 countries around the world.

IHS is a registered trademark of IHS Inc. All other company and product names may be trademarks of their respective owners. © 2016 IHS Inc. All rights reserved.


IHS Inc.
Jeff Marn, +1-202-463-8213
[email protected]
Press Team, +1-303-305-8021
[email protected]