British Hairdressing Awards 2008 Finalists Announced

The British Hairdressing Awards, launched in 1984 by Hairdressers Journal International and sponsored by Schwarzkopf Professional, have celebrated and rewarded the best of British hairdressing creativity for the past 24 years, and have fast become the ‘Oscars’ of the hairdressing world.

To enter the competition, hairdressers working in salons throughout the United Kingdom have to submit four images, which fulfil the criteria set. Depending on the hairdresser’s location, they can enter their regional category – Eastern, London, Midlands, North Eastern, North Western, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Southern or Wales & South West.

If their talents lie within a particular discipline, they are also able to enter one of the six specialist categories – Afro Hairdresser of the Year, Artistic Team of the Year, Avant Garde Hairdresser of the Year, Men’s Hairdresser of the Year, Newcomer of the Year or Schwarzkopf Professional British Colour Technician of the Year.

The first round judging takes place to establish the six finalists in the regional and specialist categories. Members of the British Hairdressing Awards Hall of Fame, along with previous British Hairdressing Awards winners are invited to judge the work submitted. Judges cannot confer during the judging process, and each mark all entries independently. The points are handed to a team of auditors, who then process the results to find the six finalists in each category.

In addition to the 15 regional and specialist categories, the most hotly contested award is for the British Hairdresser of the Year title. Entry to this award is by nomination only, and in 2008 there are six nominees for the title – Antoinette Beenders, Errol Douglas, Gary Hooker & Michael Young, Akin Konizi, Angelo Seminara and Phil Smith.

“Each year the standard of entries in all categories becomes more creative and inspirational,” comments Publisher/Editor-in-Chief of Hairdressers Journal International, Jayne Lewis-Orr.

“British hairdressing is perceived throughout the world as being the best, and the British Hairdressing Awards recognise and reward creativity and excellence in all hairdressing skills.”

To go forward to the second round, the six finalists in each category have to produce a second set of four images, which will then be judged as a complete set of eight.

The same guidelines are adhered to as before, with the winner being announced at the biggest event in the hairdressing industry’s calendar, a glittering awards dinner presented by a leading media personality – the British Hairdressing Awards at the Grosvenor House Hotel, London on Monday 24th November 2008.

2008 British Hairdressing Awards Finalists

Regional Finalists

Eastern Hairdresser of the Year

Simon Cawthorne – Cawthorne and Wright, Rutland
Sharon Cox – Sanrizz, St.Albans
Paul Falltrick – Paul Falltrick Hairdressing, Romford
Terri Kay – Mark Leeson Hair, Body & Mind, Mansfield
Anne McGuigan – Anne McGuigan Hair and Beauty, Bedfordshire
Karen Scantlebury – Ciente, Berkhamstead

London Hairdresser of the Year

Louis Byrne – Adee Phelan, London
Errol Douglas – Errol Douglas, London
Karine Jackson – Karine Jackson Ltd, London
Richard Mannah – Toni & Guy, London
Desmond Murray – Desmond Murray, London
Cos Sakkas – Toni & Guy, London

Midlands Hairdresser of the Year

Nick Malenko & Royston Blythe – Royston Blythe, Compton
Anya Dellicompagni – Francesco Group, Eccleshall
Timothy Lawton – TPL Hairdressing, Nantwich
Peter Prosser – Peter Prosser Hairdressing, Hereford
Emma Steven – Lisa Shepherd Salons, Sutton Coldfield
James Whyte – Soul Hair, Chester

North Eastern Hairdresser of the Year

Jen Deighton – Toni & Guy, Sunderland
Paul Ferguson – Hooker & Young, Gosforth
Susan Hall – Reds Hair and Beauty, Sunderland
Marcus King – Hooker & Young, Wynyard
Neville Ramsay – Ramsay & Johnson, Sunderland
Katrina Ashton and Lisa Shaw – Headlines Elite, Sheffield

Northern Ireland Hairdresser of the Year

Julian Dalrymple – The Sittingroom Hairdressing, Ballymena
Clive Johnston – Clive Alexander, Enniskillen
Keith Kane – Keith Kane Hair International, Carryduff
Andrew Mulvenna – Andrew Mulvenna, Belfast
John Morrison and Carolyn Russell – JL Morrison Hairdressing, Belfast
Michael Quinn – Michael Quinn Hairdressing, Belfast

North Western Hairdresser of the Year

Mike Bennell – Time Hairdressing, Liverpool
Harry Boocock – The Hair Studio, Leeds
Jayne Mahon – Andrew Collinge Hairdressing, Liverpool
Marcello Moccia – Room: 97 Creative Hairdressing, Liverpool
Sharon Peake – Ethos, Manchester
Melanie Tudor – En Route Hair & Beauty, Wakefield

Scottish Hairdresser of the Year

Nelson Brown – Browns, Dumfries
Gary Skinner & Stanley Cowley – Hair by JFK, Edinburgh
Tracey Devine – Angels, Aberdeen
Gary Hunter & Leslie Hunter – Frances Hunter Hair and Beauty, Stirling
Suzie McGill – Rainbow Room International, Uddingston
Lynne Welsh – Mosko, Wishaw

Southern Hairdresser of the Year

Anna Chapman – Trevor Sorbie, Brighton
Ross Dilanda – Scully Scully, Godalming
Paul Hawes – Review, Petersfield
Seung Ki Baek – Rush – Epsom
Rae Palmer – Rae Palmer, Southsea
Leonardo Rizzo – Sanrizz, Guildford

Wales & South West Hairdresser of the Year

Ian Davies – Ocean, Cardiff
Ken Picton – Ken Picton, Cardiff Bay
Scott Smurthwaite – Cream, Gloucestershire
Sally Stevens – Central Studio, Bristol
Vicky Turner – Goldsworthy’s, Swindon
Tommy Van Der Veken – Tommy’s Hair Company, Ruthin

Specialist Categories

Afro Hairdresser of the Year

Renda Attia – Steven Carey Hair Salon, London
Junior Green – Junior Green Hair & Beauty Ltd, London
Kim Johnson – Hype Coiffure, London
Claire Rothstein – Bloww, London
Michelle Thompson – Francesco Group Academy, Staffordshire
Sandra Webb – Sandra Webb Hair & Beauty, London

Artistic Team of the Year

Brooks & Brooks – London
Andrew Collinge Hairdressing – Liverpool
Haringtons – London
hob Salons – London
Hooker & Young – Newcastle
Rush – Croydon

Avant Garde Hairdresser of the Year

Darren Ambrose – D&J Ambrose, Pinner
Michael Barnes – Michael Barnes Hairdressing, London
Karen Brown – Hair by JFK, Edinburgh
Efi Davies – Toni & Guy, Covent Garden
Desmond Murray – Desmond Murray, London
James Rowe – Kontakt, London

Men’s Hairdresser of the Year

Sally Brooks – Brooks & Brooks, London
Mark Leeson – Mark Leeson Hair Body and Mind, Mansfield
Desmond Murray – Desmond Murray, London
Leonardo Rizzo – Sanrizz, Guildford
Jim Shaw – Essensuals, Billericay
Jamie Stevens – Errol Douglas, London

Newcomer of the Year

Christopher Appleton, George’s Hair Salon – Stoneygate
Alfie Booth, Andrew Collinge Hairdressing – Manchester
Peter Joseph Burkhill – Headlines UK, Leeds
Ben Ferris – Goldsworthy’s, Swindon
Ashley James Gamble – Royston Blythe, Compton
Victoria Nebbett – Monroe Hairdressing, Leatherhead

Schwarzkopf Professional British Colour Technician of the Year

Andrea Beers – Andrea Beers, Kidderminster
Christel Lundqvist – hob Salons, London
Michelle Lawley – Royston Blythe, Compton
Paul Scully – Scully Scully, Godalming
Tim Scott-Wright – Lisa Shepherd Salons, Birmingham
Gary Hooker & Michael Young – Hooker & Young, Newcastle

For press enquiries on the British Hairdressing Awards please contact Alison Jameson, or Rachael Ross at Alison Jameson Consultants on 00 44 131 621 7210, fax 00 44 131 621 7215 or email;

Press release distribution by Presswire