The Best of British Winners Announced at the 24th British Hairdressing Awards

Akin is in good company, as over the past 24 years there have only been 14 hairdressers who have been awarded this title, the greatest accolade in hairdressing. They are – Trevor Sorbie, Anthony Mascolo, Irvine and Rita Rusk, John Frieda, Andrew Collinge, Nicky Clarke, Charles Worthington, Umberto Giannini, Beverly C, Mark Hill, Antoinette Beenders, Lisa Shepherd, Andrew Barton and Angelo Seminara. The newly crowned British Hairdresser of the Year, Akin was ecstatic when he won the coveted title. “I couldn’t believe it when my name was called out, I was overwhelmed and delighted – winning the title is a dream come true,” said Akin.

In 1985, the British Hairdressing Awards – presented by Hairdressers Journal International and sponsored by Schwarzkopf Professional – was launched to reward hairdressers who were pushing the boundaries of hairdressing forward, creating and setting the trends and excelling in this competitive industry.

Each year hairdressers from all over the UK dedicate months of hard work preparing their entries into one of the sixteen categories. There are nine regional categories covering all areas of the UK, six specialist categories, which include a variety of disciplines including Afro, Men’s and Avant Garde hairdressing along with the Schwarzkopf Professional British Colour Technician of the Year and the coveted award of British Hairdresser of the Year.

Compered by TV personality Graham Norton with entertainment provided by soul diva and fashionista Mica Paris, over two thousand guests from the world of hairdressing, fashion and media mingled at the prestigious event. This year London salon owner Errol Douglas, winner of Afro Hairdresser of the Year, The Trevor Sorbie Artistic Team winners of the Artistic Team of the Year, Tim Scott-Wright from Lisa Shepherd Salons in Birmingham, winner of Midlands Hairdresser of the Year and Robert Eaton from Barnsley’s Russell Eaton Salon, who has won North Eastern Hairdresser of the Year were all presented with a Hall of Fame Award for winning their respective categories three times.

Any hairdresser from any salon can enter the awards and compete with the biggest names in the industry on a level playing field. Unlike other awards, the British Hairdressing Awards are based on photographic entries that demonstrate the skills and talents of the entrant. All entries are judged independently by a distinguished panel, with all entries remaining anonymous and all marks counted and compiled by an independent firm of auditors.

The British Hairdressing Awards has significantly raised the profile of British hairdressing both in the UK and overseas. Winners of all the categories can enjoy an increased media profile and the biggest award of the night – British Hairdresser of the Year – is recognised throughout the world, and overnight, the winner will become a tremendous ambassador for British Hairdressing, appearing on TV, radio and in the national and consumer press.

“British hairdressing is renowned throughout the world for its creativity and innovation, and with the British Hairdressing Awards we are recognising, rewarding and celebrating the best of British,“ said Publisher/Editor-in-Chief of Hairdressers Journal International, Jayne Lewis-Orr.

“The standard of entries in all categories, this year was incredible, the judges had a really hard job and I am sure that when we celebrate our 25th anniversary in 2009, the standard of entries will continue to inspire and motivate hairdressers throughout the UK.’

The Winners of the 2008 British Hairdressing Awards:

British Hairdresser of the Year 2008 – Akin Konizi

Avant Garde Hairdresser of the Year – James Rowe, Kontakt, London

Men’s Hairdresser of the Year – Jamie Stevens, Errol Douglas, London

Afro Hairdresser of the Year – Claire Rothstein, Bloww, London

Artistic Team of the Year – hob Salons, London

Newcomer of the Year – Victoria Nebbett, Monroe Hairdressing, Leatherhead

Schwarzkopf Professional British Colour Technician of the Year – Christel Lundqvist, hob Salons, London

London Hairdresser of the Year – Cos Sakkas, Toni & Guy, London

Southern Hairdresser of the Year – Rae Palmer, Rae Palmer, Southsea

Eastern Hairdresser of the Year – Terri Kay, Mark Lesson Hair, Body & Mind. Mansfield

Midlands Hairdresser of the Year – Emma Steven, Lisa Shepherd Salons, Sutton Coldfield

North Eastern Hairdresser of the Year – Paul Ferguson, Hooker & Young, Gosforth

North Western Hairdresser of the Year – Sharon Peake, Ethos, Manchester

Wales & South West Hairdresser of the Year – Scott Smurthwaite, Cream, Gloucestershire

Scottish Hairdresser of the Year – Tracey Devine, Angels, Aberdeen

Northern Ireland Hairdresser of the Year – Keith Kane, Keith Kane Hair International, Carryduff

For press enquiries on the British Hairdressing Awards please contact Alison Jameson or Rachael Ross at Alison Jameson Consultants on 00 44 131 621 7210, fax 00 44 131 621 7215 or email; [email protected]